Rating: 4.7 (46 votes) Comments:

AVG Anti-Virus Updates November 6, 2012

While updating manually, I keep on receiving the information as invalid binary update file.. I dono why it is happening so..

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: gowmi
  • Date: 6 Nov 2012

AVG Anti-Virus Updates June 18, 2012

Brian l have tried all what you have said to update AVG antivirus, but it is failing,Guys is there anything l can do to have my computer update the antivirus

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Benson
  • Date: 18 Jun 2012

AVG Anti-Virus Updates June 8, 2012

Just like Otto...Many thanks to Alan May 6 2012 for fixing my AVG update with Zonealarm problem.

Alans fix worked like a charm! Thankyou, Thankyou, Thankyou!!! :-

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: adam12
  • Date: 8 Jun 2012

AVG Anti-Virus Updates May 13, 2012

My thanks to Alan May 6 2012 for fixing my AVG update problem. I had figured out that Zonealarm was the culprit but couldnt see any instances in the program control section of AVG installer being blocked.

This problem occurred nearly 2 weeks ago for me, which does seem to rather coincide with Zonealarms launch of their Free Antivirus and Firewall - coincidence I think not. I wonder how many AVG users have been tempted to abandon AVG for this very reason and give Zonealarms new package a try.

Thanks again Alan for saving me a lot of time and trouble.

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Otto
  • Date: 14 May 2012

AVG Anti-Virus Updates May 8, 2012

I have been using this program for years now and havent seen anything bad about it, except dat sometimes updates dont want to download, but its easy to use it than other anti-viruses which are way more complicated to use and to find updates, I recommend AVG to every person with a PC @ home or schools too.

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: sphiwe
  • Date: 8 May 2012

AVG Anti-Virus Updates May 6, 2012

I had been having the problem of update failure using AVG Free 2012 and Zone Alarm. Problem is Zone Alarm is not allowing AVG Installer Application to access AVG update server.

To fix - Click on Zone Alarm icon on task bar. Click Computer Protected. Click Application Control xxxx programs secured. Wait for program list to be populated. Click Add. Navigate to C:Program FilesAVGAVG2012 or to where ever AVG 2012 is installed on your computer.

From the list of files in the AVG 2012 folder, select avgmfapx.exe, click OK. Close Zone Alam open windows. Open AVG control panel and click Update Now. A Zone Alarm popup should appear twice saying that AVG is trying to access Internet. Click Allow for each time it asks.

AVG update should proceed and future auto updates should now happen as they should.

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Alan
  • Date: 7 May 2012

AVG Anti-Virus Updates March 12, 2012

I am using AVG free version. Recently a folder in my digital camera was infected by a virus and then it was not healed but sent to the vault. I really need the folder. i tried to restore it but it cant open. What can i do

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Phedelis
  • Date: 13 Mar 2012

AVG Anti-Virus Updates March 6, 2012

I had the same problem as most everyone else regarding the Datbase is outdated. I had looked for some time online and I did come across a few good tips for the problem. One was to open the AVG program then go to tools, advanced setting. In the lower left column under Updates click on manage,it will open the Update management. First try clicking on delete temporary update files, then click yes and try to update again. If that did not work try to do the same process, but click on Revert virus database to previous version. Then do the updates again you should see a file required that will be around 740mb. Then you should be good after that.

AVG Anti-Virus Updates September 21, 2011

Hey does this update works with avg internet security 2012

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Gourab
  • Date: 22 Sep 2011

AVG Anti-Virus Updates March 7, 2011

My AVG Anti Spyware, Anti Virus, and Link Scanner say Database is outdated. This happened immediately after I paid for another years service. There is no known way to contact AVG or to get help from them. I guess I just got robbed again. I will have to pay to go to another service. AVG has let me down. I do not recommend them to anyone.

AVG Anti-Virus Updates March 7, 2011

Today, my computer hanged during an AVG automatic update, my computer was hanging a lot late last year when AVG 2011 first came out.
Reinstalling AVG fixed the problem for a month or two but the problem came back Today.
At least updating via .bin files still works.

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Pie
  • Date: 7 Mar 2011

AVG Anti-Virus Updates February 28, 2011

My PC was hanging when I allowed automatic updates overnight so I reverted to manually downloading .bin files and selecting Update from Directory as suggested on various websites and this works fine. I have maintained this for several weeks. When I try to do a manual update now the update appears to work but then hangs on Finishing update process - the PC totally hangs at this point. I can still update by downloading the .bin file and doing a update from Directory but I would like to go back to having automatic updates. In addition the page for downloading the latest updates includes an option to Report, so I thought to use this to report my problem but this gives me the following message:
Warning: Unknown: failed to open stream: Permission denied in Unknown on line 0
Fatal error: Unknown: Failed opening required homescanwithpublic_htmlreportit.php include_path.:usrlibphp:usrlocallibphp in Unknown on line 0
Any ideas on what What do I do now

AVG Anti-Virus Updates December 5, 2010

The AVG free 2011 keeps giving a General Error - Update Failed when I let update automatically or when I select Update now. This has been going on since I installed the 2011 version s couple of months ago. The AVG site has quite a few postings of this problem but gives no solution other than to reinstall and check that your firewall is not blocking access to the AVG site. Your link is exactly what is needed. 1. Save the binary file. 2. Open AVG. 3. Click Tools. 4. Select Update from Directory. 5. Browse to where the .bin file is located. 6. Click OK. Thank you for caring. LB

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: LB
  • Date: 5 Dec 2010

AVG Anti-Virus Updates October 7, 2010

Thank you so much for the help I downloaded the bin file from your link and then went to tools on my AVG interface and clicked update from directory where I saved the bin file and it fixed the bin file error I kept getting! Thank you and GOD BLESS!

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: mbriper
  • Date: 8 Oct 2010

AVG Anti-Virus Updates August 16, 2010

I think u didnt download the .bin file which actually does update
the avg antiviruss virus definitions..

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Aditya
  • Date: 17 Aug 2010

AVG Anti-Virus Updates June 16, 2010

I tried to do an update last night using the AVG interface which I always use and the update failed saying that a .bin file is missing. How can I fix this problem please

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Miriam
  • Date: 17 Jun 2010

AVG Anti-Virus Updates June 2, 2010

Im using AVG 9 free version. When I go to the update now section the popup dialog which appears just over the clock always says no updates are available. Does AVG 9 free version not update

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Mike
  • Date: 1 Jun 2010

AVG Anti-Virus Updates February 4, 2010

Thanx heaps for the tips... both Richard and Jak! :D

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Isaac
  • Date: 4 Feb 2010

AVG Anti-Virus Updates February 1, 2010

thanks for the advice but i want to ask you my fellow, my licenced avg doesnt kill virus called USERINI.EXE any help from you people

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: George N
  • Date: 1 Feb 2010

AVG Anti-Virus Updates December 31, 2009

I am using AVG Anti-Virus but cant remove one virus which is self made .exe file. Example : C:songssongs.exe he made songs.exe in songs folder it is virus, slow processing and hanging mc. Pls give me solution.

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: kishore
  • Date: 1 Jan 2010

AVG Anti-Virus Updates December 27, 2009

hay thanks for the update instructions

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: bharath
  • Date: 27 Dec 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates November 17, 2009

Thanks for the info Rich. I am very computer illiterate and your tip helped me get AVG updated to 8.5 Free Edition. Should I download other free stuff to work with it, or am I safe just playing games, e-mail, facebook, and web surfing Thanks

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Anonymous
  • Date: 17 Nov 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates November 3, 2009

Thanks a lot there Richard.
You made it relatively easy for me to install the bin file i downloaded. I guess all should follow the same procedure.
Open AVG interface
Click tools from the menu bar
Select Update from directory
Browse to the directory
Click Ok and that it.
All thanks to Rich.

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: jak
  • Date: 3 Nov 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates August 11, 2009

AVG Free Edition is the best.I want to help all those who cant use the BIN FLIE.
1.Open the AVG interface.
2. Click on tools and select UPDATE FROM DIRECTORY.
3.Browse to where you saved the BIN FILE and open and you are updated

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Richard
  • Date: 12 Aug 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates August 5, 2009

Since AVG 8,5 is on- April 2009 it gives problems and will not update even with internet

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: akram
  • Date: 8 Aug 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates August 2, 2009

My free AVG in laptop can not be updated online since 2 months. I have downloaded the current updates in .bin format from this site and saved it. Now please tell me how to install the update in the system

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Sumit
  • Date: 3 Aug 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates July 18, 2009

in the main software and the tab of update i try so hard to update the software but anytime i try it it notice that was updated successfully but i know it never has been updated.
what should i do with that

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: meedeeaa
  • Date: 18 Jul 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates June 1, 2009

yeh! its work like one man army

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: jack
  • Date: 2 Jun 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates May 25, 2009

Just use AVG Free Edition. Its more easier

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Ry
  • Date: 27 May 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates May 25, 2009

Since AVG 8,5 is on- April 2009 it gives problems and will not update even with internet

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: A.Kropp
  • Date: 26 May 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates May 14, 2009

Is it possible to download updates onto my desktop pc even though I cant access the internet through it. In other words can I download updates on my laptop and transfer them to my desktop using a usb pen drive?

AVG Anti-Virus Updates May 11, 2009

My computer tells me that my Internal Virus Database is out of date. In trying to update it tells me that the latest update is installed and fully up to date but then again tells me it is out of date. Ho can I rectify this Wal D

AVG Anti-Virus Updates May 6, 2009

well its the best...no one can beat this ...u people totally rock

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: hellraizer
  • Date: 6 May 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates March 13, 2009

avg will not update the internet explorer and firefox wont let me go to the server. it says, connection interupted, the connection to the server was reset while the page was loading. the network link was interupted while negotiating a connection. please try again. I have reinstalled the program and checked all the issues and I still cant get updates

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: debbie
  • Date: 14 Mar 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates February 28, 2009

My AVG A-Virus has been doing me a problem since last week , it wont update and even its homepage wont come up!!

  • Rating: 3
  • Posted by: Uri
  • Date: 1 Mar 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates February 24, 2009

I like this software but Im having problems with the Update Manager, it wont update...so I have to go back to the website and download again. Cant this be fixed on version 8.0

  • Rating: 3
  • Posted by: Tammay
  • Date: 25 Feb 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates February 11, 2009

Thanks for the update... this site really helps

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: acspec
  • Date: 12 Feb 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates February 6, 2009

Thanks a lot for the service you provide. I think you are the best Anti-Virus Site on the web. Nevertheless, PLS tip me how to download a BIN file. Isnt there any other extensions more accessible to users!

AVG Anti-Virus Updates February 3, 2009

its just click update avg and then find your file updated in your folder

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: baquz
  • Date: 3 Feb 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates January 29, 2009

My AVG refuse 2update and I dont know WY

  • Rating: 4
  • Posted by: AKA Fresh
  • Date: 29 Jan 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates January 26, 2009

How do i open the BIN file format of AVG update.

AVG Anti-Virus Updates January 15, 2009

AVG Update is BIN file, how to open BIN file

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: arif
  • Date: 16 Jan 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates January 02, 2009

why is english so bad :D

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: Snake
  • Date: 2 Jan 2009

AVG Anti-Virus Updates November 3, 2008

why its need daily update. its also older one day. why they dont set the updating for 1 week.

  • Rating: 3
  • Posted by: chelvaqn
  • Date: 4 Nov 2008

AVG Anti-Virus Updates October 2, 2008

after installing this update my win XP giving error of win XP genuine license cant boot up further

  • Rating: 5
  • Posted by: nish
  • Date: 4 Oct 2008

AVG Anti-Virus Updates January 30, 2008

Why avg must be update day by day.. not like usually... and late one day before..?

  • Rating: 2
  • Posted by: deden
  • Date: 31 Jan 2008

Add Comment:

top